Da Vinci & Dimostrazione

“There are three classes of people: those who see. Those who see when they are shown. Those who do not see.”

Leonardo da Vinci did much more than brush up on several languages, make strenuous efforts to teach himself natural science, mathematics, philosophy, and history. His genius stems from a technique he developed, called “theory of knowledge”.

Now, I’ve already mentioned Saper Vedere (”knowing how to see”), and this broader concept encompasses or perhaps summarizes the theory of knowledge; because he often writes in his notes: “Experience is my Muse…

DIMOSTRAZIONE

Rather than taking what others say for granted, da Vinci went to great trouble to set experiments up himself, in order to prove his own findings. His notes often take on the form of specific steps or a short number of findings, in sequence, which describe a particular effect.

In painting, for instance, his experience teaches him that:

“ON PAINTING AND PERSPECTIVE”

The divisions of Perspective are 3, as used in drawing;

  1. of these, the first includes the diminution in size of opaque objects;
  2. the second treats of the diminution and loss of outline in such opaque objects;
  3. the third, of the diminution and loss of colour at long distances.

I’m not suggesting that we re-invent the wheel here, but if I had to look at the situation, I’d say what I take from this is the following: By understanding the essence of any particular concept, one can quickly define a set of rules or aspects of information at play in any particular instance.

Take Social Media Networking, as example; a while ago I felt that I would have to get in touch with this field, not simply from reading but also experiencing it. So having read a book or two about the subject and recent developments, I started a few different facebook pages and a blog or two to get the feel of it. My own experience as to the workings of, reactions to, and kind of conversations and quality contact one can make, was all far more insightful than any case study or pointers in a book could deliver. And although I’ve only scratched the surface to-date, I learn more every day.

And so it is time to begin the week; Happy Monday!

Leave a comment